Like Family: Growing Up In Other People\'s Houses: A Memoir

Brand: Little, Brown
SKU: DADAX0316597422
ISBN : 9780316597425
Price:
$9.67

Domestic Shipping:$3.99
Qty: - +
   - OR -   

Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses: A Memoir

In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's "Boys of My Youth" and Mary Karr's "The Liar's Club," Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early '70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California, court and spent the next 14 years in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the freshest memoirs to be published in recent years. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

Specifications of Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses: A Memoir

GENERAL
AuthorPaula McLain
BindingHardcover
LanguageEnglish
Edition1
ISBN-100316597422
ISBN-139780316597425
PublisherLittle, Brown
Number Of Pages240
Publication Date2003-03
DIMENSIONS
Height8.63 inch.
Length5.88 inch.
Width1 inch.
Weight0.5 pounds.

Write a review


Your Name:


Your Email:


Your Review:

Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: