Adventures In Eating: Anthropological Experiences In Dining From Around The World

$36.77 New In stock Publisher: University Press of Colorado
SKU: DADAX1607320142
ISBN : 9781607320142
Condition : New
Price:
$36.77
Condition :

Shipping & Tax will be calculated at Checkout.
US Delivery Time: 3-5 Business Days.
Outside US Delivery Time: 8-12 Business Days.

Qty:
   - OR -   

Adventures in Eating: Anthropological Experiences in Dining from Around the World

Anthropologists training to do fieldwork in far-off, unfamiliar places prepare for significant challenges with regard to language, customs, and other cultural differences. However, like other travelers to unknown places, they are often unprepared to deal with the most basic and necessary requirement: food. Although there are many books on the anthropology of food, Adventures in Eating is the first intended to prepare students for the uncomfortable dining situations they may encounter over the course of their careers.Whether sago grubs, jungle rats, termites, or the pungent durian fruit are on the table, participating in the act of sharing food can establish relationships vital to anthropologists' research practices and knowledge of their host cultures. Using their own experiences with unfamiliar-and sometimes unappealing-food practices and customs, the contributors explore such eating moments and how these moments can produce new understandings of culture and the meaning of food beyond the immediate experience of eating it. They also address how personal eating experiences and culinary dilemmas can shape the data and methodologies of the discipline.The main readership of Adventures in Eating will be students in anthropology and other scholars, but the explosion of food media gives the book additional appeal for fans of No Reservations and Bizarre Foods on the Travel Channel.

Specification of Adventures in Eating: Anthropological Experiences in Dining from Around the World

GENERAL
Author
BindingPaperback
LanguageEnglish
Edition
ISBN-101607320142
ISBN-139781607320142
PublisherUniversity Press of Colorado
Publication Year2010
DIMENSIONS
Height6.01 inch.
Length0.7 inch.
Width8.98 inch.
Weight0.95 pounds.

Write a review


Your Name:


Your Email:


Your Review:

Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: