Sleeping By The Mississippi (Hardcover)

$878.53 New In stock Publisher: Steidl
SKU: DADAX3865217532
ISBN : 9783865217530
Availability: Only 5 Left In-stock.

Price:
$878.53

Domestic Shipping: $3.99

Internation Shipping (Except United states): $16
Condition :

Shipping & Tax will be calculated at Checkout.
Estimated delivery time 7-14 days.
International delivery time 2 to 4 weeks.

Qty:
   - OR -   

Sleeping by the Mississippi

Evolving from a series of road trips along the Mississippi River, Alec Soth's Sleeping by the Mississippi captures America's iconic yet oft-neglected "third coast." Soth's richly descriptive, large format color photographs describe an eclectic mix of individuals, landscapes, and interiors. Sensuous in detail and raw in subject, his book elicits a consistent mood of loneliness, longing and reverie."In the book's forty-six ruthlessly edited pictures," writes Anne Wilkes Tucker, "Soth alludes to illness, procreation, race, crime, learning, art, music, death, religion, redemption, politics, and cheap sex… The coherence of the project places Soth's book exactly within the tradition of Walker Evans' American Photographs and Robert Frank's The Americans."Like Frank's classic book, Sleeping by the Mississippi merges a documentary style with a poetic sensibility. The Mississippi is less the subject of the book than its organizing structure. Not bound by a rigid concept or ideology, the series is created out of a quintessentially American spirit of wanderlust.

Specification of Sleeping by the Mississippi

GENERAL
Author
BindingHardcover
LanguageEnglish
Edition3rd
ISBN-103865217532
ISBN-139783865217530
PublisherSteidl
Publication Year2008
DIMENSIONS
Height11.3 inch.
Length0.6 inch.
Width11 inch.
Weight2.5 pounds.

Write a review


Your Name:


Your Email:


Your Review:

Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: