Algonquin Books

Display: List / Grid
Sort By:
Facing the Music: Stories (Bright Leaf Short Fiction)
Facing the Music, Larry Brown's first book, was originally published in 1988 to wide critical acclai..
A Cure for Dreams
A story that traces the bonds between four generations of resourceful Southern women through storie..
Battles of the Revolutionary War, 1775-1781 (MAJOR BATTLES AND CAMPAIGNS)
The Americans didn't simply outlast the British, nor was the war just a glorified guerrilla action w..
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
The Garcías—Dr. Carlos (Papi), his wife Laura (Mami), and their four daughters, Carla, Sandra, Yolan..
Big Fish: A Novel of Mythic Proportions
In his prime, Edward Bloom was an extraordinary man. He could outrun anybody. He never missed a day ..
Big Bad Love
Larry Brown caught the rapt attention of readers and critics with the 1988 publication of Facing the..
Papa Was a Farmer: The Story of an Immigrant Jewish Families Life in Amer (Amer Places of the Heart Series)
The author, who immigrated to the United States from Russia with her parents in 1904, recounts their..
Space: A Memoir
A memoir in the tradition of Frank Conroy's STOP TIME and Tobias Wolff's THIS BOY'S LIFE, SPACE is ..
The Moralist of the Alphabet Streets: A Novel
The story of a young woman, Meredith Saunders, a red-haired, bossy, wise brooder and a number of oth..
When the Water Smokes: A Peltier Creek Chronicle
Book by Simpson, Bob Features : Used Book in Good Condition Product dimensions : 0x0x0 inches Produc..
Joe: A Novel
The lives of two men--Joe Ransom, a drinking, gambling, reckless fifty-year-old, and Gary Jones, a l..
Deep Enough for Ivorybills
This is the account of a man's initiation into the outdoors heritage of his home territory. Jim Kilg..
Very California: Travels Through the Golden State
A fisherman on the Santa Monica Pier. The vineyards of Napa Valley. Surfers in Malibu. An Indian vil..
Wooden Churches: A Celebration      (Hardcover)
Though usually plain, sometimes humble, wooden churches are something special. With no fancy accout..
The Last Review
Book by Dabney, Virginius, Freeman, Douglas S. Features : Used Book in Good Condition Product dimens..
World War II in the Mediterranean, 1942-1945 (MAJOR BATTLES AND CAMPAIGNS)
Recounts events in the Mediterranean during World War II, including how the inexperienced Americans..
Fay: A Novel
She's had no education, hardly any shelter, and you can't call what her father's been trying to give..
Jack's Skillet: Plain Talk and Some Recipes From a Guy in the Kitchen
Flavored delightfully by his down-home good-ol'-boy Arkansas/Mississippi roots and spiced up by his..
Dream Boy: A Novel
ALA Gay-Lesbian-Bisexual Book Award. DREAM BOY confirms the immense promise of Jim Grimsley's award..
The Earth Moved: On the Remarkable Achievements of Earthworms
In The Earth Moved, Amy Stewart takes us on a journey through the underground world and introduces u..