Jane Austen: The Works In Eight Volumes

$793.85 New Out of stock Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing
SKU: DADAX1443805408
ISBN : 9781443805407

Domestic Shipping: $3.99

Internation Shipping (Except United states): $16
Condition :

Shipping & Tax will be calculated at Checkout.
Estimated delivery time 7-14 days.
International delivery time 2 to 4 weeks.

Jane Austen: The Works in Eight Volumes

Jane Austen: The Works in Eight Volumes

Jane Austen's novels remain among the best-loved works of English literature, both in her native Britain and throughout the world. They have inspired numerous sequels, prequels and spin-off volumes, and have been widely adapted for film and television. For generations of readers, Austen's novels have come to represent the essence of the Regency period, epitomising wit, elegance, and a vanished world of politeness and privilege, and harking back to a time of greater moral and social coherence. Austen is also a gentle satirist, justly celebrated for her ironically mocking depictions of the fashions and foibles of her age, and a moralist, known for the clarity of her moral vision and her penetrating psychological insight. For many readers, however, Austen's novels are quite simply the most delightful and satisfying love stories of all time, and her characters the most believable of literary creations. This edition, from Cambridge Scholars Publishing, makes available the complete text of all Jane Austen's works, including her juvenilia and unfinished later works, in an affordable and accessible format. Each volume features a very brief introduction, covering the historical context in which the work or works were written, Austen's own views of the text(s), relevant responses from later readers, and helpful suggestions for further reading. The edition also includes a longer general introduction to Austen's life and works, by a Jane Austen scholar, Dr Katie Halsey of the University of London. This title includes: Volume 1 (368 pp.) 'Critical introduction to the Works by Dr. Katie Halsey; Sense and Sensibility and Lady Susan' (an early epistolary novel); Volume 2 (304 pp.): 'Pride and Prejudice'; Volume 3 (185 pp.):'Northanger Abbey'; Volume 4 (347 pp.): 'Mansfield Park'; Volume 5 (365 pp.): 'Emma'; Volume 6 (188 pp.): 'Persuasion';; Volume 7 (205 pp.): 'Juvenilia'; and, Volume 8 (93 pp.): 'The Watsons and Sanditon' (the incomplete novels). All of the Works have been newly typeset for this edition. The texts of 'The Watsons' and 'Lady Susan' are based on those published with J. E. Austen Leigh's memoir of 'Austen' (London: Richard Bentley & Son, 1883). The juvenilia are based on the first editions, in three volumes, printed from the manuscripts, including: 'Volume the First' (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1933); 'Love and Freindship' (London: Chatto & Windus, 1922); and, 'Volume the Third' (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1951). The text of Sanditon is based on the first edition from the manuscript (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1925). The texts of the published novels have been based on those available online from Project Gutenberg, with reference to Richard Bentley's 1833 collected edition. Dr. Katie Halsey (Institute of English Studies, University of London) has contributed both an introduction to the Works as a whole, printed in volume 1, and a separate brief introduction to each volume.

Specification of Jane Austen: The Works in Eight Volumes

AuthorJane Austen
EditionNew edition
PublisherCambridge Scholars Publishing
Publication Year2009

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Email:

Your Review:

Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: