Migrations: A Novel

$23.21 New Out of stock Publisher: Flatiron Books
SKU: BKZN9781250204028
ISBN : 9781250204028
Price:
$23.21

Shipping & Tax will be calculated at Checkout.
Estimated delivery time 7-14 days.
International delivery time 2 to 4 weeks.

Qty:
   - OR -   
Migrations: A Novel

Migrations: A Novel

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK (Entertainment Weekly, Vogue, Time, Vulture, Elle, Harper's Bazaar, Newsweek, The Millions, Library Journal, Maclean's, and more)"As beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read...Extraordinary." ?Emily St. John Mandel"I recommend Migrations with my whole heart." ?Geraldine BrooksFor fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world?s last birds?and her own final chance for redemption.Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean?s tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world?s last flock of Arctic terns and track their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds will lead them to fish. As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny?s dark history begins to unspool. Battered by night terrors, accumulating a pile of unsent letters, and obsessed with pursuing the terns at any cost, Franny is full of secrets. When her quest threatens the safety of the entire crew, Franny must ask herself what she is really running toward?and running from. Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Charlotte McConaghy's Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking page-turner about the lengths we will go for the people we love.Amazon.com Review Clear your calendar and settle in for a brilliant and breathless read.Migrations is about a woman who goes to the ends of the earth in search of herself and to track what just might be the last migration of Arctic terns, birds that travel from pole to pole every year. It?s also about love, adventure, climate change, and what happens when a person simultaneously runs away from her past and runs straight towards it.Migrations gets richer with every scene as you learn more about Franny Stone-why she boards a boat full of fishermen, why birds call to her, how she fell in love with her husband, and how death stalks her at every turn. From Antarctica to a prison in Ireland, Australia to Galway, Franny traverses the world and with every turn of the page, you learn more about why she?s always on the move. The novel?s pacing is phenomenal-and the candor, veracity, and clarity with which it?s written make it feel like a memoir.Migrations is confessional, intimate and one of the best books I?ve read this year.-Al Woodworth, Amazon Book ReviewReviewA Most Anticipated Book (Entertainment Weekly, Vogue, Time, Vulture, Elle, Good Morning America, Harper's Bazaar, Newsweek, The Millions, Library Journal, Maclean's, and more)?Visceral and haunting?As well as a first-rate work of climate fiction, Migrations is also a clever reimagining of Moby-Dick?This novel?s prose soars with its transporting descriptions of the planet?s landscapes and their dwindling inhabitants, and contains many wonderful meditations on our responsibilities to our earthly housemates?Migrations is a nervy and well-crafted novel, one that lingers long after its voyage is over. It?s a story about our mingling sorrows, both personal and global, and the survivor?s guilt that will be left in their wake.??The New York Times Book Review?Powerful?Vibrant?Unique?If worry is the staple emotion that most climate fiction evokes in its readers, Migrations?the novelistic equivalent of an energizing cold plunge?flutters off into more expansive territory?McConaghy has a gift for sketching out enveloping, memorable characters using only the smallest of strokes? Migrations, rather than struggle to convince readers of some plan of environmental action, instead puts humans in their place.? ?Los Angeles Times ?Thrilling?In piecing together who this my

Specification of Migrations: A Novel

GENERAL
AuthorMcConaghy, Charlotte
BindingHardcover
LanguageEnglish
Edition
ISBN-10125020402
ISBN-139781250204028
PublisherFlatiron Books
Publication Year04-08-2020

Write a review


Your Name:


Your Email:


Your Review:

Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: