Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography

$38.74 New In stock Publisher: Random House
SKU: DADAX0679416862
ISBN : 9780679416869
Condition : New
Price:
$38.74

Shipping & Tax will be calculated at Checkout.
US Delivery Time: 3-5 Business Days.
Outside US Delivery Time: 8-12 Business Days.

Qty:
   - OR -   
Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography

Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography

California journalists Neil and Judith Morgan present the authorized biography of the late Ted Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, the phenomenally successful, beloved author and illustrator of dozens of memorable children's books, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. 16 pages of photos.From Publishers WeeklyIn this authorized biography, California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan present a dutifully researched and intimate portrait of the late children's-book author and artist beloved by millions. Fans of The Cat in the Hat, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas and other classics may be surprised to learn that Dr. Seuss was terrified of children and had none of his own, and that writing verse was a supreme effort for him. While children's literature is Ted Geisel's principal claim to fame, his creative life was multifarious, including an apprenticeship with film director and army major Frank Capra during WWII and stints in advertising. The authors deftly evoke the settings where Geisel lived and worked, such as his hometown of Springfield, Mass.; Oxford, England, where he studied; and coastal La Jolla, Calif., where he spent roughly half his life. Friends of their subject, the Morgans also vividly depict a quiet but exuberant man with a keen wit and biting?though never mean-spirited?sense of humor. A pleasing combination of fact and anecdote, this volume is a fitting tribute.Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.From Library JournalThis witty and charming biography of the highly original genius, Dr. Seuss (Ted Geisel), maintains suspense as the authors unfold the facts of his life and art. It is full of wry Seussian limericks and interesting anecdotes, among which are his failed invention of an Infantograph and the mad pranks played by Seuss on rival artists. The legions of Seuss admirers are treated to accounts of the inspiration for and the history behind each of his famous books. The authors, seasoned journalists and writers themselves, who are neighbors of Geisel, have given us the only authorized biography of this famous American. As such, it is of interest to the three generations of men and women who grew and continue to grow up reciting Dr. Seuss's rhymes.Marie L. Lally, Alabama Sch. of Mathematics & Science, MobileCopyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.From the Inside Flapournalists Neil and Judith Morgan present the authorized biography of the late Ted Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, the phenomenally successful, beloved author and illustrator of dozens of memorable children's books, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. 16 pages of photos.

Specification of Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography

GENERAL
AuthorMorgan, Judith
BindingHardcover
LanguageEnglish
Edition1st
ISBN-100679416862
ISBN-139780679416869
PublisherRandom House
Publication Year11-04-1995

Write a review


Your Name:


Your Email:


Your Review:

Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below: